Skip to content

Rocked the Vote!

November 7, 2008

So, I don’t know if y’all heard, but something big happened on Tuesday. History and shizz (I’m going to try not to ramble here). The fact that the people of this country see Barack Obama as a representative of political and social change without regard to the color of his skin is an amazing accomplishment. Yet even in my relief and pride following this historic event, one quick visit to facebook* easily reminded me of the small-mindedness and ignorance which still exists below the mason-dixon line in this country. Even worse, I’m friends with these people.**

If only Amy and Seth were here to help me with this one. Really?

Fortunately, some of my friends saved my faith in people not from the South humanity. Or at least my faith in facebook? (Although not my faith in the rest of California. That whole Prop 8 business is just ridiculous and completely based on fear and ignorance. But that’s fodder for a whole ‘nother post. See this and this)

Thank goodness for my California "hippies"

A black man is our president, and I helped elect him. This has been a long time coming. All I have to say is, in the words of Christopher “Big Black” Boykin, “Do work SON!”

Great advice!

Great advice!

—–

* Yes, on the historic night in our nation’s history I was, in fact, sitting alone and spending my time watching election coverage and, alas, checking facebook. But it’s what the elitist media told me I should do as an 18-34 year old voter, right?

** But we all know that facebook friends aren’t the same as real friends. I mean, it would be totally rude to physically poke your real friends repeatedly each day for weeks at a time. Or to write messages including “OMG” or “haha” (or any messages, for that matter) on the walls of their apartments/homes.

*** Muffin is code for “unborn child” although people who like babies they may actually refer to it as “the baby”

One Comment
  1. brie permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:42 am

    can u be my husband, i want to go black

Comments are closed.

