Skip to content

Friday Pick Me Up: March Madness

March 13, 2009

It’s almost that time again. 128 men’s and women’s college hoops teams (I’m against the play-in game so I’m not counting that ridiculous 65th team) get to it in the NCAA Tournament, everyone (excluding your highly-ethical athletics department employees) fills out a bracket and gathers to debate the merits of the bubble teams, which team will play Cinderella, who will make the Final Four and whether or not we can still consider Gonzaga a mid-major.

Unfortunately, for me March Madness really is madness in that I will be knee-deep in tournament supplements, all-nighters and a very stressed out boss at work, beginning Monday. Combine that with the fact that this all falls on the week of St. Patrick’s Day and you might find me slightly bitter until our team gets bounced. So, this pick-me-up is for both of us…

First, since I’ve been told it is inappropriate to ogle college basketball players, I give you NCAA Champions of March Madness past…

This is Emeka Okafor. He helped UConn win the 2004 national title and was also the Final Four MVP and Academic All-American of the Year. Brains and muscles!

Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner. This is the year a friend of mine tried to pick a fight with him in a bar in Arizona. Fortunately, nothing came of it.

He also won NBA Rookie of the Year in 2005. And has a nice smile.

He also won NBA Rookie of the Year in 2005. And has a nice smile.

Now, since I hope I know I have plenty of male readers, I present Candace Parker. She won back-to-back NCAA titles and then was named the WNBA MVP and Rookie of the Year in the same season. Also, I hear she’s hot. Although she is now married to a strange space alien NBA player Sheldon Williams and pregnant with his baby.

She also likes donuts and milk!

She also likes donuts and milk!

That's an ESPY. I think she won two.

That's an ESPY. I think she won two.

Moving on, if you ever needed another reason to be glad you don’t live in Arkansas, please read this article about children at a daycare drinking windshield wiper fluid that the staff thought was Kool-Aid. Yeah. That happened. And lo and behold, they got sick. And even if you do live in Arkansas or call it home, I mean, you’ve got to be a little embarrassed by this, right? Thanks to Dubs for that one.

Finally, another zany and ridiculous clip from the morning “news program” The Today Show.Willard Scott is a “Soup” clip waiting to happen at all times. He’s done it again.*

For added fun and excitement, watch the first few seconds of this one* as well. Check out the woman yelling with Al. She is from Ireland, has only a few teeth and is smoking a pipe. She also is yelling something about the banshee. Spectacular.  LOVES IT.

Happy Friday!

* I would have posted these directly, but wordpress may or may not suck and not allow MSNBC video player videos on its sites. And javascript. Yeah. Thanks WP.

Comments are closed.

