Skip to content

Friday Pick Me Up: Spring is Here!

March 20, 2009
Tulips...so hot right now.

Tulips...so hot right now.

As I’m sure you know, today is the first day of spring. Despite the fact that most people living north of the Mason-Dixon Line are still in the full weather throes of winter (see: snow in NYC this morning), according to the calendar spring started this morning around 7:40 a.m.

I, for one, am unbelievably excited about this prospect. For me, spring is the first sign of impending summer, which is probably my favorite season. It also means that I’m that much closer to being out of here and off to a real job with a real salary and (hopefully) a real place to live (that doesn’t include taking care of a dog that is not yours and doesn’t listen to you).

Spring in the South also means some of the best weather of the year. Despite all the disparaging remarks I have made about the Durrty Durrty, I have to admit that spring weather here is better than spring weather in the Bay Area. Spring in East Tennessee means the dogwoods are blooming, the sun is shining, the grass is green and the full-on sticky, standing in an outdoor steam room humidity hasn’t kicked in yet. I like to call it, hammock weather. And yes, we have a hammock in the back yard. Right near the creek.

If you’re keeping track, the scoreboard looks something like this…

I see you EDT!

I see you EDT!

Anyway, in honor of spring, I thought I’d highlight one of my favorite spring happenings – spring training. Sure, I’ve never been but it is on my list of things to do when I’m not poor/living 2,000 miles away from Arizona. The Grapefruit League is for chumps!

Viva los Gigantes! Giants fans can also check out more photos here.

This is Noah Lowry. Ladies love Lowry. Except when he's popping up bunts. Or maybe that's just me.

This is Noah Lowry. Ladies love Lowry. Except when he's popping up bunts. Or maybe that's just me.

Meet Emmanuel Burriss. He's a second baseman with pretty eyes who enjoys hard grounders and sliding in the dirt.

Meet Emmanuel Burriss. He's a second baseman with pretty eyes who enjoys hard grounders and sliding in the dirt.

This is Buster Posey. He's new and a catcher, but he has a cool name.

This is Buster Posey. He's new and a catcher, but he has a cool name.

Sigh, I can smell the hot dogs, Orlando’s Caribbean BBQ and bay breezes now.

In other news, hot chicks and so-so looking guys pay attention: Researchers at the University of Tennessee found that hot chick + so-so guy = happily ever after. This study (discovered by the awesome ladies at Glamour’s Vitamin G blog) tells me two things:

1. This book suddenly seems relevant
2. University of Tennessee/KnoxVegas = capitol of hot chick + less attractive (and potentially douchebag)

Finally, some funny mishaps from Soccer AM of SkySports in the UK. You don’t have to like football to enjoy most of these. Totally brilliant.  Happy Friday!

2 Comments
  1. March 21, 2009 1:26 am

    I like springtime. Everyone seems to be in a better mood, I can tell you are. Enjoy your upcoming days.:)

  2. Jill Goodman permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:58 am

    I am curious about the photo of tulips here. Is this photo in the public domain, or how would I go about obtaining permission to use it on a postcard my dental office is creating for marketing our business?

Comments are closed.

