Skip to content

Hanging Out in the Dark is Fun! aka Earth Hour 2009

March 27, 2009
Do IT!

Do IT!

Oh! I have something else to tell y’all. Tomorrow night (Saturday, March 28), everyone on the planet should celebrate Earth Hour 2009. All you have to do is turn off our lights for one hour and you can feel good about being a part of something big to help the earth AND being a part of something that 1 billion people are doing!

Maybe I’m sounding preachy here, but c’mon, who doesn’t love sitting in the dark? Just because it might remind you of a scary movie doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t love it. Just think, you could have a romantic candlelight dinner? Or if you’re not the romantic type, maybe a sΓ©ance? Ouija board and all? That’s what I’m talking about.

All I know is that this is the easiest way to help the planet ever. Just flip off all the light switches, tvs, fans, appliances in your house for one hour on Saturday night – 8:30 to 9:30 p.m. (your local time). Simple as that.

I’m doing it because that means I can’t be studying or doing homework during that time and anything to keep me from that is clearly a good cause. Plus, if I fail my test I can probably blame it on trying to change the world.

If you’re unsure, check out all the landmarks and historic sites that will be switching the lights off for Earth Hour ’09. And look here for things you can do with the lights off.

So if you’ve got an hour of time when it’s barely even dark on Saturday, turn off the lights, head outside and enjoy the planet, while we still can. Besides, candles are soooo retro and I hear that stuff is totally in! You 38, Climate change 0. Score!

One Comment
  1. March 27, 2009 10:20 pm

    Thank you for posting this, I fully agree with the whole concept. I’ll get some people to do the same thing. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

