Skip to content

Let’s Take It Back…Way Back

April 29, 2009

After reading Just Playing Pretend (Dubs‘ fabulous Blog Swap parnter) talk about her favorite boys of the ’90s, it was clear that I needed to respond with my own top eight. Yes, I am completely unoriginal. But I think this is an important topic that needs to be discussed. Especially on a Wednesday, when everyone needs to reminisce about drooling on posters of say, Brian Austin Green, to get them through the pain of sharing an office with someone like I do. So here we go…

Ah, BH: 90210, the original. Brian Austin Green was the poor girl’s Luke Perry. Or something. I wonder how much gel went into the making of that show. Had this guy on my wall for sure.

bag_l

Both earrings? Intriguing and mysterious!

I’m right there with JPP, Benjamin Franklin “Benny the Jet” Rodriguez. Love the strong silent types. Tall dark and handsome? Yes, please. Plus, those PF Flyers! Swoon. Could be part of the reason why I watched The Sandlot at least once a week as a kid.

Heroes get remembered, but legends never die, follow your heart kid and you'll never go wrong.

Heroes get remembered, but legends never die, follow your heart kid and you'll never go wrong.

Moving right along, how can you forget the glory that is Cool Runnings? Jamaicans and bobsleds? Instant classic. Especially with Doug E Doug involved. Even his name is funny. How could I love him when Yul Brenner was around, you ask? Boy’s gotta have a sense of humor…and be able to cook me fried plantains, obviously.

Dreads are hot on Jamaicans, clearly.

Dreads are hot on Jamaicans, clearly.

Sure movie and TV boys were great, but as a little tomboy, nobody was as drool-worthy as my favorite ball players. First, there was Will “The Thrill” Clark. The nickname alone could win you over. Plus the skills. I hear he’s a d-bag in real life, but in my formative years nothing could stop me from having his picture in my lightswitch faceplate. Thank you very much.

The eye black. How can you resist?

The eye black. How can you resist?

Joining Will the Thrill on my lightswitch faceplate was none other than Royce Clayton. Pre-dreads and pre-adorable family, Royce was mine. Those two still remain on that faceplate today.

One word: adorable.

One word: adorable.

I know what you’re thinking…hey, what about your ABC TGIF crush? Don’t worry, here we are. Good ol’ Cody Lambert (aka Sasha Mitchell) from Step by Step. Why? I don’t know. Maybe it was the shaggy hair or goofy grin. Maybe it was the knowledge that I could probably best him at any simple task. Either way, he was my favorite Friday night fella (unless we’re counting Stefan, Urkel’s alter ego, of course).

Check out that shirt. Thank goodness the '90s are over.

Check out that shirt. Thank goodness the '90s are over.

Last, but definitely not least, are two movie heroes of mine. Bill and Ted. Sure, they were slackers and didn’t do their project until the last minute. But, look how it turned out! They had an excellent adventure and passed their class. I like the way they operate. Plus, anyone who can drop the word heinous like it’s going out of style without forcing it pretty much rules.

Keanu in his greatest role? Plus, who doesn't love a guy in a half shirt?

Keanu in his greatest role? Plus, who doesn't love a guy in a half shirt?

So there they are. Those really were the good ol’ days, except for the part where I couldn’t drink or support myself. Who is in your top eight hotties of the ’90s? Are they as ridiculous as mine? Do share.

One Comment
  1. April 30, 2009 9:01 am

    No Jordan Knight and Nick Carter?
    WHAT? πŸ˜›

Comments are closed.

