Skip to content

Tag! You’re It

May 13, 2009

I don’t usually do this kind of thing because, well, I’m just too lazy. But since Dubs tagged me to do it and she also secretly paid for my new haircut, this is the least I can do to repay her. Thus, I’m “meme-ing.” And now I feel dirty. Play along if you choose people.

The Rules
1. Mention the person who nominated you
2. List six unimportant* things that make you happy
3. Tag six blogs, state the rules & notify them with a teeny comment on their blog

*I take issue with this because, anything that makes me happy must be important. Maybe random is a better word?

Here, goes…

Six Random Things That Make Me Happy

1. Gum. It’s at the point where it’s an addiction. If I don’t have gum around I go into withdrawal and constantly worry that my breath stinks. You should always be prepared in case any of these guys happen to want to make out…

burriss

bale

torres

2. Laying on warm pavement. I used to do this all the time at home when I was a kid. There’s nothing like the smell of the sidewalk on a warm day. Don’t judge

3. Baseball on the radio. I’m not sure if it’s the memories of listening to games as a kid or what, but nothing beats a summer day outside with a game on in the background. It doesn’t even have to be Los Gigantes, any team, any game, any time. Although, there’s nothing like these potentially drunk guys telling me how my team is doing…

Yes they have their own bobblehead. "Grab some pine, meat!"

Yes they have their own bobblehead. "Grab some pine, meat!"

4. Spaghetti with mizithra from the Old Spaghetti Factory. This is among the foods I miss the most living in East TN. Don’t hate on the goat cheese.

5. Outdoor pools. If it would allow me to live somewhere that is not my parents’ basemement, my dream job would involve teaching small children to swim, going to work in a swimsuit and flip flops, and spending all day outside in a pool. The smell of the chlorine, the sunshine, the people watching – just thinking about it makes me happy. Plus the swimming and the feel of the water. Delightful!

My first love

My first love

6. Public transportation. Anyone who has ever spent any time with me in a city with great transportation knows how happy it makes me. I honestly would suffer through New York winters because I love taking the subway. The combination of people watching, not driving, trains and saving money/gas gets me all excited. It probably makes me kind of a crazy person and if I told this to any of my friends in TN they would definitely call me a dirty hippie, but I don’t care. I just love subways and buses and trolleys and light rails. Plus, taking public transportation in places like London or Paris increases your chances of meeting someone cool and/or sexy who has an accent!

Because this post clearly isn’t long enough, I’m going to add a quick list of six random things that I don’t like (inspired by LiLu).

Six Random Things I Don’t Like

1. People rubbing their hands together repeatedly (see: my coworker constantly putting on hand sanitizer just to annoy me)

2. Flickering lights. Honest to goodness I may have epilepsy because flashing and flickering lights drive me insane. Remember, if I do start having a seizure, please put a wooden spoon in my mouth. I do not want to be the girl who choked to death on her own tongue. Thanks

3. Shoes. If I could go around in flip flops (or barefoot) all day everyday, I would probably be the happiest person ever. (see #5, above)

4. Mushrooms

5. The sound of someone scratching their skin with long fingernails.

6. Super-magnified pictures. Not sure what it is but these sort of things make me cringe

Magnified dental plaque. Ew

Magnified dental plaque. Ew

Now I’m supposed to tag six people but I’m lazy so I’m only tagging a few. Be sure to check out their blogs because you’ll love them. Your turn, y’all…

  • Andhari – She’s awesome, she’s from Jakarta, and she’s my best commenter (even though I’m awful at commenting back)
  • Single Grrl – She cracks me up and I quasi-lurk on her blog.
  • LBluca77 – She is probably too big time for memes, but I love reading her blog and wish I could be in her bicycle gang.
One Comment
  1. June 2, 2009 12:59 pm

    Oooo- I never realized it, but those magnified pics make me cringe too.

    Gosh, I’m hungry.

Comments are closed.

