Skip to content

You Say Goodbye, And I Say Hello

June 16, 2009

Better late than never…

Yeah, I just stare at my desk; but it looks like I'm working. I do that for probably another hour after lunch, too. I'd say in a given week I probably only do about fifteen minutes of real, actual, work.

Yeah, I just stare at my desk; but it looks like I'm working. I do that for probably another hour after lunch, too.

So, I mentioned last week that I got myself a new bright and shiny job and that I would discuss it more later. And here it is, later. Without just gushing and sharing too much I have a cool job doing something I enjoy at a place I think I will really like and with people who all seem great. Plus, I’m moving away from my two years of indentured servitude and into the world of actual workers with benefits and paychecks that don’t make you sad. But really, I have to say that one of the reasons I’m super stoked about this job is because I get to go back to California!

Now, don’t get it in your head that I hate East TN. Despite what you may have heard, that is just not the truth. While it is sometimes a little disconcerting to live next door to a bonafide drug dealer (if dealing to the guys in the SpongeBob Squarepants car in broad daylight makes you bonafide) and living with the most inconsiderate and self-centered person I’ve ever met (and I lived in SoCal for 4 years!) is sometimes nearly unbearable, I have to say I’ve learned many things and had at least a few good times here in The Dirty Dirty.

Like the time that my roommate’s mom asked a black woman (who was, in fact a recent college grad) if she could read when she got into the 20 items or less line with more than 20 items at Walmart.

Oh wait no. That was not fun. That was racism.

Obviously there will be things I miss about The Dirty Dirty like the summer storms, fireflies, 2 Granny’s blueberry pancakes and, of course, the cheap liquor (here’s hoping I find a sugar daddy/mama to pay for my $10 cocktails in Cali).

This is real. Synchronous fireflies in the Great Smoky Mountains. Awesome

This is real. Synchronous fireflies in the Great Smoky Mountains. Awesome

On the other hand, I’m stoked to go back to my home state because I’m about ready for a change. Some people hate change, even things like moving to a new office or a new apartment in the same town, but I always see changes as an opportunity to add something new to the list of experiences that make me who I am. Not only do I get to go have a job where I will have a comma in my paycheck for the first time, but I also get to meet new people and live in a new place while still being close to old friends and family.

I’m hoping the return to Cali will be triumphant – a job that I think I’m going to love, hanging out with my friends, living in a new place, mingling with dudes who are not rocking the Southern fratboy look visor-bama bangs-croakies-khakis-boat shoes combo.

Football Saturday in Oxford, Miss. Unfortunately in the Da Souf these guys still get laid.

Football Saturday in Oxford, Miss. Unfortunately in the Da Souf these guys still get laid.

But, the fact that in the next three weeks I will be packing up my life, shipping all my stuff back, wrapping up my grad assistant position, going big at my ultra-classy slip and slide going away party, saying goodbye, hopping on a plane, finding a new place to live and starting my new job, is a little daunting.

Needless to say, it’s all getting a little nerve wracking. But less in the “ohmygod, get me a car to drive off a cliff” way and more in the “we’re almost at the top of this huge hill on a rollercoaster” way.

Here’s hoping I don’t puke at the bottom. Then again, vomit did have an awesome week around these parts last week…

4 Comments
  1. June 16, 2009 10:11 pm

    I’m positive you made the right decision and it’ll be a great change for you, and you gonna have so much fun. However, your descriptions about california frat boys made me laugh, been wondering the same thing.

  2. June 17, 2009 8:21 pm

    You’re moving back to my homeland. That pleases me to no end as I will look forward to your SoCa exploits and begin to live vicariously through you. Well done.

  3. Cheddar permalink*
    June 17, 2009 8:38 pm


    Colby – Mine too! I’m totally stoked. As much as I’d love going back to SB and SoCal, I’ll actually be in the East Bay and I’m hoping at some point to either find or organize a Bay Area blogger meetup so keep that in mind. Also, I love it when people live vicariously through me and not the other way around. Huzzah!

  4. Cheddar permalink*
    June 17, 2009 8:39 pm

    Andhari – Thanks for the encouragement! I can’t wait to get back home. And trust me the frat boys in Cali are much, much cooler than the frat boys here in the South. Don’t even get me started on that.

Comments are closed.

