Skip to content

Let’s Get Serious…or Something

October 6, 2009

So yesterday I was reading blogs instead of doing a wide array of other tasks which need to be completed, such as work, writing my own blog, kicking ass and taking names. I know this comes as a surprise, but what can I say? I’m unpredictable.

Anyway, I read Nicole’s little gem and was inspired to write something meaningful and serious. Unfortunately, I’m not creative enough and ended up basically plagiarizing except my life is not as interesting as hers. “The time before I worked with socially awkward people, and the time after” just doesn’t have the same ring to it, so I’ve scrapped that idea. Let’s just say that I’m not one for seriousness or reflection.

Instead, I’m looking ahead to what people are telling me is a very important day in my life. I’m quickly approaching the big 2-5. That’s right, in just 25 days I will be able to RENT A CAR and DRIVE WITH KIDS WITH A PERMIT! Badass!

I'm guessing it will be a lot like this.

I'm guessing it will be a lot like this.

But really though, supposedly this whole quarter-century thing is a really big deal. I’m not really seeing it, but maybe in 25 years (if my liver allows) I will look back and this will be a life-changing year? So, to help things along, I’m thinking of stealing ideas from Nicole and Maxie by making a list of things I want to do as a 25 year old. That way when it’s all over, I can sing along to that Veruca Salt song, “goodbye 25, you were a good year for the girls.” I’ll see you in a year, YouTube.

Side note: Does anyone else remember Veruca Salt? Am I already at the point where I’m aging myself? Did you know I used to walk barefoot through the snow seven miles uphill to get to school?

25 Year Olds Have More Fun?: The List (in no particular order)

  1. Walk across the Brooklyn Bridge
  2. Get into a fist fight (and live to tell about it)
  3. Run a 5k
  4. Make homemade cheese
  5. Complete another triathlon
  6. Complete a pub crawl (by train) up the peninsula
  7. Visit D.C.
  8. Meet some of my bloggy friends IRL
  9. Go on a date (just one- I’m not asking a lot here)
  10. Go on a kickass road trip
  11. Finish a NY Times crossword
  12. Buy a bottle of Corralejo Reposado (big ups to Maxie)
  13. Go wine tasting
  14. Take a boxing class
  15. Start saving for Rio 2016
  16. Become a regular volunteer with a non-profit
  17. Blog everyday for one month
  18. Become fluent in Spanish
  19. Get a pet
  20. Become a runner or a swimmer (again)
  21. Get flowers from someone other than my family
  22. Drink a glass boot full of beer
  23. Tailgate before a sporting event other than football
  24. Get a manicure
  25. Plan a blogger meetup in the Bay
  26. (just for good measure) Produce many, many cringe-inducing TMIs (see Nos. 25, 22, 23, 13, 12, 10, 6, 8, 2)

What would you add? Am I getting too old to have my list revolve around drinking? I’m hoping to avoid 25 being over-hyped and then falling short so I’m going to try my damnedest to make it at least as fun as 24. Then again, I’m not sure how you top a slip and slide party, walking across SF in an argyle sweater and vomiting in front of an elementary school.

I guess we’ll have to wait and see…25 days and counting.

6 Comments
  1. October 6, 2009 3:21 pm

    25 is NOT too old to have a list revolve around drinking! come on.

  2. Taylor permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:20 pm

    Hopefully you’ll go on many, many dates πŸ˜‰

  3. Cheddar permalink*
    October 6, 2009 6:43 pm

    Maxie: Thank goodness. As my friends begin pairing off and doing adult things, the few of us singles left like to think that it’s only slightly degenerate to still be binge drinking. Thank you for validating me.

    Taylor: I like setting low expectations so that when I exceed them I feel special. Here’s hoping πŸ™‚

  4. October 7, 2009 2:19 am

    Your list is funnnnn! Definitely not too old to have more drinking adventures..25 and above is such a sophisticated age range! And you’re going to Rio on 2016? Hot, hot men :p

  5. October 11, 2009 11:00 pm

    Yes, LOVE the list! I am so all about people making Life Lists. Rock out, lady.

  6. October 22, 2009 12:37 pm

    i say you go to disneyland drunk… unless you do any other… reality altering substances, it’ll make the park feel like you are a kid again…

Comments are closed.

